And we’re off!

29 Aug

I’m sitting in my darkened dining room the night before library school orientation, frantically trying to establish my web presence. Twitter: check. (Hey! Check me out @clredman!) Blog: you’re here, aren’t you? Next up, a website that seamlessly integrates all the required elements. From all the “is there a future in that?” questions, news about Library 2.0, and even posts from the great (as far as I can tell) Hack Library School blog have got me feeling like I need to up my connectedness to compete in this digital age.

I have to admit that lately, I’ve started to feel like an old fogey. I’m all “what are the kids doing these days?” and “gosh darn kids can’t put their phones away for a minute!” Confession: I think I’m actually scared. Technology has always come very easily to me, but I’ve become complacent in my time away from the classroom. I haven’t kept up with the trends and I’m secretly worried there will be too much to catch up on. I guess I’ll find out, starting tomorrow morning with my workshops on webpages and using the academic search tools on campus.

One Response to “And we’re off!”

  1. archive34 September 23, 2011 at 12:32 am #

    I completely agree. We’re a few weeks in now, and I think a lot of my aversions to it all are fear of not doing well with adapting to the new things … which is scary, because it’s what the field needs.

Leave a comment