Practicum Placement!

13 Dec

I just received word about my practicum placement: Wendt Library, which is….ENGINEERING.* Gulp! My English-major heart is quaking a little at the thought, but it’s an incredible opportunity to gain lots of experience.

Some of my duties will include:

  • Co-teaching class sessions
  • Moderating online discussions (it’s an online class)
  • Maintaining the grade book
  • Checking over course materials to make sure it all makes sense and links, etc. work
  • Teaching workshops (EndNote and Google for Academic Research)
  • Teaching library resource sessions

Whew! That’s a lot, especially since the class occurs over a 6 week period, rather than stretching over the whole semester. I haven’t done ANY of these things before, so I’m anxious to get started.

Wish me luck!

*Editor’s note: I should add that I quite like engineers. So much, in fact, that I’m marrying one. As the future hubs rightly pointed out after reading this post. 

3 Responses to “Practicum Placement!”

  1. Kristin Briney (@brineydeep4) December 13, 2011 at 2:30 pm #

    That’s exciting news! I’m sure that you won’t have any problems helping out the engineers. They’re just as clueless about the library as the rest of the students on campus.

    • Cate December 13, 2011 at 2:37 pm #

      Haha…that’s my hope! I plan to cultivate an air of wisdom and respectability in the classroom 🙂

  2. miss January 29, 2012 at 7:28 pm #

    You’re going to do amazing! I have to work with Bio students, and I haven’t taken a science related class in over six years, and it’s been eight since I took high school bio!

Leave a Reply

