Reference

8 Dec

So, I had a revelation last night.

I. Heart. Reference.

This is both exciting and disappointing at the same time. On the one hand, I’m pumped to find something that gets me really jazzed about libraries. That sounds bad, considering I mostly think about libraries ALL THE TIME. What I mean is, libraries are exciting and there are many, many things I find interesting and deeply compelling. But things that make me want to do a little leprechaun kick when a patron walks out the door: not quite as many of those.

Basically, what happened was that a patron needed a specific type of item for an assignment. It was something I actually knew how to find. WIN. So not only did I help her find exactly what she needed, without wasting too much time of me going, “um, well, I’m not quite sure. How about I do some research and email this to you,” but I also showed her how to find the database and recreate the search in the privacy of her own home. Information literacy BAM. I was totally giddy with the idea that she might go home and tell her classmates how to do the same.

So now on to the disappointing part. From all the OMG THE FIELD IS CHANGING doomsday talk in these halls, I hear reference is on its way out. Now, I get the sense that it’s just changing and that reference will still exist in a modified form, which is fine by me; I just need to find those jobs. At least I have something to look for now.

!!!

2 Responses to “Reference”

  1. miss January 29, 2012 at 7:30 pm #

    I would also recommend the LIS 639, the information literacy course since it applies the theories of reference services and applies them to info lit. It’s pretty much a pre-LILI, but a great experience nonetheless.

    • Cate January 29, 2012 at 9:29 pm #

      Thanks for the advice – I could definitely use some extra background for teaching. Even without it I’m really excited to be getting started finally! This semester’s going to be crazy.

Leave a Reply

