Monday Eye Candy: Boston College’s Irish Collection

7 Nov

Fáilte!

I spent a semester of my junior year in college in lovely Galway, Ireland. It’s a smallish city in the west of Ireland and full of all the charm (and pubs) one expects of Ireland. I daydream of it quite frequently, mostly seeing the friends I made, warming myself near a fire, and drinking…well, not the swill I drank while I was there. Something that doesn’t come in a two-liter (litre!) bottle. Either way, This gorgeous collection from Boston College takes me back.

So…sláinte to the days when the company was good, the beer was free-flowing, and the homework was easy!

Shamrock Book Cover

Courtesy Burns Library, Boston College

Gilt printed book cover

Courtesy Burns Library, Boston College

Cover detail with harp

Courtesy Burns Library, Boston College

I definitely could have used this one a few times:

Irish-English Dictionary

Courtesy Burns Library, Boston College

P.s. Thank you all for letting me exercise my Irish (Gaelic?…They always called it Irish when I was there). In case you were wondering, they mean “welcome” and “health” (but meaning “cheers”).

Leave a Reply

