Big News From Outside the Stacks!

28 Oct

So, while I was writing my other post, I got a call that changed my life in a small but powerful way. My best friend from the waybacks of high school called to ask me to be her daughter’s godmother.

The little lady

The Little Lady

This lady is now mine. I have loved her from before I even knew she was on her way* but something’s changed. This child was already the best-loved little person I’ve ever encountered, surrounded by an incredibly warm family, but I’ve now added the fierceness of a (god)mother’s love to the pile. I can’t wait to watch her grow.

On a library-related note, I’m going to have to put in some time with the children’s lit/youth services folks! I’m going to shower her with books, as my librarian aunties did to me. If you have any good suggestions, let me know!

*Seriously…psychic dream, ask me about it sometime.

3 Responses to “Big News From Outside the Stacks!”

  1. Dana October 29, 2011 at 5:39 pm #

    Cate!! That is so cool! You’re going to be the best. I want to hear about that dream, too!

  2. Kristin Briney (@brineydeep4) October 30, 2011 at 10:13 pm #

    She is so adorable! What a great honor to be her godmother. And I agree with Dana that you’ll have to share that story sometime.

  3. Cate October 31, 2011 at 1:06 pm #

    Thanks ladies – I’m so excited! And I will definitely tell you about my dream sometime 🙂

Leave a Reply

